Recipe

Butternut squash chickpea curry

I had a whole butternut squash sitting in my fridge for almost a week. I didn’t know what to do with it! I usually make butternut squash soup but my blender broke recently so I went on Pinterest to look for another recipe.

I came across this: butternut squash chickpea curry. It looked absolutely gorgeous. Trust me, it tastes even better. I love the intense depth of flavor from the curry sauce. It also helped that this was store bought curry paste so it saved me alot of time to try to build this flavor.

I found the curry paste at the local grocery store. Any major grocery chain will carry this in their international section of the store. There were a ton of different flavors so pick one that you want to try. I used Tikka Masala. Make sure to buy the “curry paste” and not simmering sauce though.

Butternut squash chickpea curry
recipe inspired by Vikalinka

Ingredients

1 tbs oil
1 onion, chopped
3-4 garlic, chopped
1 bunch of cilantro, chopped (stalks and leaves separated, stalks reserved)
1 butternut squash, diced
1 can chickpeas
2 tbs Patak’s Curry Paste, heaping
1 can coconut milk
2 cups water
3 handfuls baby spinach
1/2 cup frozen peas
2 tsp salt

Instructions

1. Heat a tablespoon of oil in a large and deep pan and cook chopped onions, garlic and cilantro stalks over low heat for 10 minutes until soft.

2. When the onions are tender add the curry paste and cook for a minute or so stirring the whole time, then add your squash, chickpeas, coconut milk, water, and salt. Bring it to a boil by turning the heat up, then turn the heat down to a low-medium and simmer it uncovered for 35-40 minutes. Stir it occasionally to prevent from burning.

4. Once butternut squash is fork tender, stir in peas, spinach and cilantro leaves, cover with a lid and take off the heat.

5. Serve with rice, naan bread, or cauliflower rice. I had mine with cauliflower rice and squeeze of fresh lime. Absolutely delish!

 

One thought on “Butternut squash chickpea curry

Leave a Reply

